Good/ popular ukulele songs?

christenajenifer

Reaction score
I just got a ukulele and i was wondering what songs there are out there that are played on ukulele? In other words what are the best ukulele songs? I've been picking it up pretty easily, but I'm not an expert, so no super hard songs please :)

oh yeah, I already know "somewhere over the rainbow"

Thanks!

Learn Radiohead's "Creep" - great uke song! Here is a link to a tutorial video:

Creep on Ukulele

I would recommend going to Amazon.com MP3 download section and typing in "ukulele". It will pull up a ton of material that is available to learn, you can hear a preview of each song, and purchase and download instantly anything that you want to put in your collection. If you want to learn to play an instrument or style of music, you have to get that sound in your ears...it's the only way to become familiar with it. Once you find a song you want to learn to play and have the audio for it you can search out the chords online if you need to. Just my 2 cents.

Anything you can play on guitar works on the uke, albeit sometimes with some tweaking to accommodate the lack of the extra two strings. I play a lot of Beatles, Dylan, Cohen, Donovan, and other pop/folk/blues stuff that I used to play on guitar. I also play a lot of vintage music from the 1920s-40s because it's not only great music and fun to play, a lot of the songsheets were chorded for the uke so I can pick them up and start playing easily.

There are many places to find songs that are easy to play and sound good on the ukulele. Here in UU, there is:
1)Comprehensive Aldrine Guerrero Ukulele Lesson List
2) Clickable List of Tabs and Chords (found in the Ukulele Tabs and Chords Forum)
3) Be sure to check out Uke Minutes also

Oscar Schmidt OU6-LCE Tenor
Oscar Schmidt OU4 Tenor

I think it is a law you must learn to play "Ain't She Sweet". :)