setup/action adjustment?

bsting

Reaction score
hi everyone, newbie here :)

I just got my first real uke a few weeks ago used off craigslist.org, and it sounds great. However, the action is definitely higher than I would like. I mean, it's higher than my guitar. It's an old Harmony baritone.

I guess my question is, do you think this can be adjusted? If so, would a guitar shop be able to do it, or would I have to take it to a ukulele shop? I'm currently using aquila nylgut strings, the kind designed for concert tuning. I've also wound the string around the tuning pegs several as you would when stringing a guitar, though I think I just read that this is wrong and a common mistake guitar players make. Is that wrong and could it make a difference?

It's still very playable, and sounds very good....but any help you guys can offer would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks!!

most guitar shops that handle repairs should take in your uke if you bring it in.

Hi, bsting.

A guitar guy can lower your action for you, but you can lower the action yourself. You can do this at the nut, the bridge, or both.

Check the action at the 12th fret. The space between the string and the crown of the 12th fret should be between 1/8 and 3/16 of an inch.

If it's too high, you'll have to adjust the action at the saddle. Before you do that though, check the action at the nut.

When fretting a string at the 3rd fret, you should be able to slide a business card between the string and the top (crown) of the first fret with a little bit of friction.

If there's no friction, then you'll have to lower the action at the nut.

To lower the action at the saddle:

Calculate the difference between your action at the 12th fret and 3/16 of an inch. Loosen your strings, take out your saddle, and mark this difference on it with a pencil, starting from the bottom of the saddle.

Get some 220 grit sandpaper, and start sanding the bottom of your saddle down to that pencil mark.

To lower the action at the nut: