PDA

View Full Version : Martin Uke

c.b.fiddler
05-27-2008, 08:27 AM
This was given to me by my father for my birthday. I am a professional violinist in Atlanta and an apprenticing violin-maker - I know nothing of Ukuleles! This is a beautiful Uke that I do not want to sell (it belonged to my Great Grandfather.) I have done some research and think it is a C.F Martin 3K uke. Do you guys know more about the history and collectability of such an instrument?

I am an 8 yr member of Maestronet.com - a forum for the violin family. There is so much expertise over there I though a Ukulele forum may be able to shed some more light on this.

Thank you in advance!
Chris

http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa23/burndrettc/Martin%20Uke/IMG_3132.jpg
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa23/burndrettc/Martin%20Uke/IMG_3141.jpg
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa23/burndrettc/Martin%20Uke/IMG_3137.jpg
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa23/burndrettc/Martin%20Uke/IMG_3144.jpg

cheeseburger
05-27-2008, 08:29 AM
That is sooooo pretty!

uber_goober
05-27-2008, 08:40 AM
Hey Chris,

I'm no expert, but the older Martin's are generally very desirable. Especially the fancier ones (like the 3k). I can't say for sure that's the model (I'm sure others can chime in). But I can say that you've got a great instrument to keep and play (read that, "do not, under any circumstances, sell that ukulele"). :)

-John

uber_goober
05-27-2008, 08:42 AM
Oh, one more thing...you probably want to stick with lower tension strings, like Martin's or D'Addario's. Higher tension strings like Worth's may be dangerous given the (probably) light bracing on the Martin. When your instrument was built, there was only one kind of string...low tension.

-John

c.b.fiddler
05-27-2008, 08:45 AM
Thank you!