Martin Uke

c.b.fiddler

Reaction score
This was given to me by my father for my birthday. I am a professional violinist in Atlanta and an apprenticing violin-maker - I know nothing of Ukuleles! This is a beautiful Uke that I do not want to sell (it belonged to my Great Grandfather.) I have done some research and think it is a C.F Martin 3K uke. Do you guys know more about the history and collectability of such an instrument?

I am an 8 yr member of Maestronet.com - a forum for the violin family. There is so much expertise over there I though a Ukulele forum may be able to shed some more light on this.

Thank you in advance!
Chris

IMG_3132.jpg

IMG_3141.jpg

IMG_3137.jpg

IMG_3144.jpg

Hey Chris,

I'm no expert, but the older Martin's are generally very desirable. Especially the fancier ones (like the 3k). I can't say for sure that's the model (I'm sure others can chime in). But I can say that you've got a great instrument to keep and play (read that, "do not, under any circumstances, sell that ukulele"). :)

-John

Oh, one more thing...you probably want to stick with lower tension strings, like Martin's or D'Addario's. Higher tension strings like Worth's may be dangerous given the (probably) light bracing on the Martin. When your instrument was built, there was only one kind of string...low tension.

-John

Thank you!

The research I did at the Geocites website claims that the 3K with diamond inlays is a fancier older model that was first available in 1918. There is no serial number to trace anywhere on/in the uke that I can see - just the Martin stamp on the back of the headstock and inside looking directly into the soundhole.

Couple more pics:
IMG_3134.jpg

IMG_3135.jpg

Last edited:
Hi GX9901,

I just noticed your edit - Wow. I thought $5000 was a high estimate. This uke doesn't have any cracks or repairs.

Deach,

Sure thing - I don't think I want this ratty old shrunken guitar anyway.:D Send yours first and then mine will follow shortly.:rock: