PDA

View Full Version : beginner. OUCH!

aoruk
04-30-2010, 09:43 PM
Hi guys!

I got my ukulele early this morning and had been playing it all day! I am super excited. I moved home after graduating from my undergrad and yay, ukulele arrived!

It's my first time playing any type of string instruments. My fingers are still getting used to it (ie, they are in so much pain.. ). I know everything takes practice but I feel like I'm doing something wrong with my strumming because 1st, it doesn't sound smooth no matter how hard I try and 2nd, it hurts so much..

For strumming, should I be using the flesh part of my index finger? or using the nail?

For fingers on fret, are there specific "fingerings" for each chord or can you alter them based on how they flow in the chord progression?

Any comments and tips will be awesome! Thanks!

MisoHappy
04-30-2010, 10:00 PM
Welcome to UU! ok let's see....

1) Usually your nail, unless there's a part where you want the sound it makes when you use your skin.

2) Do you mean change the chord shape, or change which fingers go to which note? For the former, if it sounds good, then sure, why not. If the latter, use whatever is comfortable to you. (This will be the answer to many questions along the way haha)

And as you will aaaallways hear it's

practice, practice, practice. You started playing today? Don't worry, it's just the learning curve, everyone's been there :) You'll find your groove soon enough

As for the pain, that's good. You'll eventually develop callouses which make it virtually painless to play.

Good luck and have fun!

jer989
05-01-2010, 02:47 PM
....And as you will aaaallways hear it's

practice, practice, practice. You started playing today? Don't worry, it's just the learning curve, everyone's been there ...