learning the hard way

Steve vanPelt

Reaction score
The good thing about learning the hard way is that the lessons will likely be well learned. I always try to do one new thing on each 'uke I build. This one I tried 10 new cosmetic things I've never done before. The new stuff came out ok, more or less, a few glitches, but ok. The stuff that got me is the stuff I thought I had down already.

I tried to duplicate the sound from one I liked, but I miscalculated my limited data on deflection, mass and density and wound up with a top a little too thin for its' own good. Sounds GREAT, though. While it lasts. Got quite a belly below the bridge and a flat spot above it. The tone bars are so light you can practically read through them, and they still are visible in the reflection on the top. The best part of it all is that I'm finally starting to think of the 'ukulele as a whole and plan to make several small adjustments that I hope will ease these issues on the next one.

The neck needs to move a hair clockwise and the string need to drop a bit on both ends. I'll let it settle a couple of days before making the adjustments. Spent most of my time trying to get all the little things to line up, should have spent more time on the basics. This 'ukulele building is very demanding to me, I don't know why I struggle with it so much. Live and learn, time will tell, look before you leap. It's getting better though. The next one....now that's gonna be a keeper......

Anyway, here's some pics of stuff I didn't screw up too bad. Thanks for looking.

Steve

ALA_0280..jpgALA_0247..jpgALA_0217..jpgALA_0192..jpgALA_0200..jpg