PDA

View Full Version : Rhythm confusion and fingering troubles

churlala
05-06-2010, 06:51 PM
Hi all,

3rd week beginner here... So I learned the beginner triple threat - C, F, G7 - and played happy birthday and twinkle twinkle (neither of which sounds like the "real" songs but I just sing along and fake it til I make it).. And actually found the upbeat version of over the rainbow w/ an additional Em and Am chords (but thank god no E major!)... But here I'm totally lost - how do you know what rhythm to strum the uke to? Does it depend entirely on your previous knowledge of said songs? The only thing I can get any clue as to the rhythm is the number of syllables in the words! And what happens at the next verse when there's no chords until the second or third word? Do I just a Capella the first word or two? I've played the piano a little bit and I guess it's hard for me to switch from that mindset... And I saw that monster of a strum pattern PDF and suddenly got very intimidated and thought - man I'd NEVER be able to learn how to play this!!

Next question is - I just can't can't can't seem to get my brainless left fingers to press down on the strings right... I know I need practice practice practice, but it's quite discouraging... :( I even cut my (really) nice nails. Please help or commiserate :(

churlala, in need of uke skills

knive
05-07-2010, 04:04 AM
Hello Churlala,