Just picked up a cigar box... suggestions?

UncleElvis

Reaction score
So, I just picked up a Romeo Y Julietta box. It's really nice looking, with the paper all intact.
It closes with a tack, so, unlike my other box, I'm not as loathe to seal it shut.

Problem is, it's 8" x 6" x 2 7/8", which is an odd size.

I'm thinking my options are:

Make another small ukulele, I want to play with a stick concept for the neck (like the cigar box guitars)... one day, I'll remember what that is called.
Make a tiny amp.

Any other ideas, suggestions, thoughts, concepts, desires or just bizarre "Hey, you know what would be cool"s?

Just thinking... How big/small would the sound hole/s have to be for this...
(Note to self... go check Erich's formula and do math... *grin*)

I've also been looking into regulations on the import of Cuban cigar boxes into the States and, as far as I can tell, it's not illegal, but I'm no lawyer.

If anyone has any more information on it, please let me know, as I have a limited supply of boxes that I would be more than happy to shoot a couple over to folks who might be interested in them.

Thanks for your time

Just did the math for the sound holes... They're gonna be TINY, which, I guess is good.

I'm learning so much here...

thank you ALL so much

its called a neck-through design...

FYI, its a general consensus among cigar box builders that while Romeo and Julieta boxes look nice, they arent so hot for sound. It is also said that if you want to use one, use the back of the box for the sound board.

http://handmademusic.ning.com/

Really? I did not know that. Thanks for the info.

I'm checking the Handmade link now... I think I've peeped it before, but didn't really pay attention.

Are there cuban boxes that do sound good? Any recommendattions?

its called a neck-through design...