Advice from ukers who also play guitar...

griemers

Reaction score
So, lately I've had the itch to start trying to play guitar again. I played a little bit in high school and college, but never really made it much further than learning a few basic chords for strumming songs. Once I started playing uke, I kind of turned my back on the guitar and never looked back. I think a big part of it was the fact that most of the music I love-- ragtime, blues, jazz, tin pan alley kind of stuff, just works out so nicely on the ukulele.

Anyhow, I guess my question is, how hard is it to transition into playing those sorts of music on guitar as well? I've recently heard some fantastic old-time guitar music on youtube and such, and I would really like to learn to play. But, do you have to be an expert-level player to make it sound half-way decent? I mean, I consider myself a pretty good, average/intermediate uke player-- playing something like the arrangement of Robert Johnson's Hot Tamales that everybody plays is pretty simple on uke. Is something like this super-difficult on guitar?

Also, will my knowledge of the different chord forms/inversions for the more complex, "jazz" chords on uke translate at all into making them easier on the guitar?

Anybody else made this jump?

Any other advice greatly appreciated!

--G.R.

I started playing guitar long before I played uke, but I would think your playing skills on ukulele will help a lot when you transition to guitar. Your chord changes will probably be smoother a lot faster than if you had never played any instrument. I give guitar lessons and I've noticed that if the student has ever played any type of instrument before (piano, drums, etc) they catch on way faster than students that haven't ever played. And you don't have to be super good to make it sound good. I say go for it!