Eleuke SL

FromTheWayside

Reaction score
Hey Guys! I have a quick question about the Eleuke SL. Here's A Link

Is it really made of solid koa? It would blow me away if it was (Ko'olau tenor electric cutaways start at $900). I'm curious about the Jazz models as well...are they solid mahogany / rosewood?

Does it sound any good? I've heard stories both ways: both thatit sounds like a uke, and thatit sounds like a nylon-stringed guitar...I know with the electronics it could be both, but I just want to make sure.

Also, I know it just came out, but I can't find any videos of the thing for the life of me. If someone could post one, or share their experiences, I would be most appreciative.

Thanks all, and happy uke'n. :cool:

jazz eleuke

I have the rosewood tenor jazz. I'm just a beginner, but now I can use our amps.I'm having fun.

Fair question, that's a good slab of hard to get timber. Looking forward to the answer.

when i was doing some reading about before and after i bought mine, i found out the koa uke is not solid koa, it has koa over something else. i don't remember what tho, but it is solid.

the jazz models are solid mahog/rosewood. i have the rosewood jazz cutaway concert and i'm extremely pleased with my eleuke. i'm not sure if you're asking for videos of the koa or just eleukes. one good source of videos of eleukes is on the eleuke usa website.

as for how they sound, depending on how you have the tone nob, it sounds like most ukes plugged into an amp. it does have a sound all it's own (obviously) but it is close to a regular uke sound.

as for which wood sounds better, i'm not sure there's a difference. all their saddles are made of the same wood and the pickups are the same, so i'd assume they all sound the same. the 3 i've played all sounded the same.