Singing Harmony

Where are you with vocal harmony?

• I'm comfortable and sing it whenever it fits.

Votes: 35 57.4%
  • I can't do it at all, and am not interested in it.

Votes: 6 9.8%
  • I'm not there yet, but I'm working on it.

Votes: 20 32.8%

• Total voters

KevinFL

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I'm curious as to how many of you are comfortable singing harmony. I've recently joined an established trio which expanded to a quartet with me. They're really big on using harmony and as a baritone I've got low harmony on most pieces. I've never worked on harmony before this so it's a bit of a struggle but I'm getting it. In addition to band practice I'm working closely with one of the members who is coaching me in singing and I'm working on my own with an instructional CD that teaches harmony.

So how many of you are comfortable singing harmony?

I'm not comfortable with it at all, although I would like to be. I do remember when I was in elementary school and dinosaurs roamed the earth, we used to do it in chorus. It didn't seem to difficult then, but I have mostly lost whatever I knew about it then. As I recall it was mostly a matter of the chorus leader going over our parts separately with us, and then us memorizing them and trying to tune out the sound of the others. I suspect people who do it often just learn to listen to both parts.

It's tough when you start out. Keep at it, because it's fun when you get it.

Kevin, I'm in the same boat as you. I fell in with the remnants of another band last August. I had never really sung more that a few songs with my previous group. They wanted me to sing tenor in a Bluegrass band. That first gig in September was AWFULL! I have progressed a long way since then, but still have more work ahead.