Help me justify purchasing a Uke

dlknight

Reaction score
I have been wanting a uke. I have never played one before. I just started learning to play a guitar a few months ago. I have been researching ukes for a couple of months now trying to decide which one I wanted. I did find a place locally that carried Makai so I went today. First time I have ever held a uke. First thing that came to mind was, dang these things are really small. Even the tenors are small. I like to have decent equipment. I have a Martin acoustic and a Grestch Corvette electric guitar. I have also been wanting a Seagull Entourage acoustic that is roughly $320 with a solid cedar top and wild cherry back and sides. I have been looking at ukes that cost around $250 concert size. I dont mind spending money on good instruments. Just wondering how someone can justify spending $250 or more on a uke when you can get a solid top acoustic guitar for less than $500 and it is so much bigger. I know you can buy really cheap ukes but you can buy really cheap guitars as well. I had a brand new acoustic solid wood body spruce top mahogany back and sides grover machine tuners for less than $200. I took it back and traded up for my Martin. Anyway I would like you all to help me understand why a uke in comparison to me cost so much?

All I can say is "Do what makes you happy". Just because it is smaller does not mean it needs to be cheaper. From what I hear when it is smaller there is less room to hide flaw.

Ther have been soem discussions here about how a uke is really a deal compared to a guitar. I do not know much about guitars but how much would a custom made, to your specs, guitar cost???? Guess how much custom uke would cost? Considerably less for sure. But would the quality be lacking?? I doubt it.