My new design!

choss

Reaction score
So, I'm new to Uke, and I already suffer from UAS! The only problem is that i'm not a huge fan of traditional ukes. I do love the one I have, but one is enough. I really like strange and unique style. The Boat Paddle M-style is hands down the nicest and most stylish one I've ever seen, but it's way out of my price range. I even tried emailing to see if he sold seconds! ...I really should have known better. He is a master builder.

So, short on funds, but with about a dozen detailed plans drawn up, I decided to go with a cheap luthier in Vietnam to bash out a rough design. I'm sure some of you know who he is, and I'm aware that the wood may not be the best, but I just had to see one of my designs come to fruition. This is just a mock up though and the final one will have cleaner wood for the neck.

So here it is! The first "sample" as he put it. This was just a test because I couldn't decide on wood choices. I'm going with #1, nicer fret markers, and bridge inlay to match the fret markers. I'm a little worried that the two bigger sound holes may be a touch too large, and I've also toyed with the idea of one F-hole on the left side. I'll probably have two or 3 finished pieces made now that he did these two samples for me. As long as the first one sounds OK.

Ideas? Feel free to mock it openly, I know it will make most people cringe. But, that's why I like it.

Attachments

• DSC_0064..jpg
    DSC_0064..jpg
    89.2 KB · Views: 75
  • DSC_0062..jpg
    DSC_0062..jpg
    86.7 KB · Views: 77
  • DSC_0059..jpg
    DSC_0059..jpg
    87.6 KB · Views: 105
Last edited:
Here was the first sketch I made. The Banksy "Love Bomb" image was going to be inlaid, but I decided it would be too busy.

Attachments

• P4140967..jpg
    P4140967..jpg
    86 KB · Views: 41