Any feedback on Collings tenors?

banjoker

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm ready for a purchase, and I'm considering a Collings tenor (or Mya-Moe, or GString). Any preferences? Caveats?

collings looks like some of the highest quality ukes on the market. Mya-Moes are awesome aswell and i think gstring went out of business or is downsizing right now. sorry i cant be of more help

I too have been eyeing up Collings tenors. I just bought a Collings guitar and WOW! So I've been anxious to at least get my hands on any Collings ukulele.

I had the chance today and it was wonderful. We were at a friends' house and they had a Collings UC-1, the concert size and I loved it! I'm still pretty new to the ukulele. I've only been playing about 6 months and I've only played a couple of ukuleles but this was really, really nice. I'm a pretty big guy and given my guitar background I figured I would always be a tenor ukulele guy but this concert Collings was really sweet! I can imagine the tenor would be too!

Depending on your budget, you could consider this one:

http://www.acousticmusicworks.com/UT3M275.html

If I could, I'd be in the car tomorrow to pick that up! :D

Matt

Acoustic Music...

Hey Matt, in fact it was that very blue uke that caught my eye in Pittsburgh the other day. Didn't have time to play it, but I plan to go back.

Hey Matt, in fact it was that very blue uke that caught my eye in Pittsburgh the other day. Didn't have time to play it, but I plan to go back.

It sure is beautiful. If you get a chance to play it or buy it, I'd love to hear about it!

Matt

I have a Collings Tenor and love the sound and sustain. Workmanship is flawless. Have had it for a few months now, with no complaints or problems. I also tried the UC-1 concert but returned the uke after a couple of days. Just sounded a bit dead compared to my other mahogany ukes.

I have played just about everything. Collins is great. Great volume and the sound is very good. You won't be disappointed.

Hi Banjoker,