Right-hand fingernails

jgeary

Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I'm new to this forum and love it!
I'm also new to the ukulele - having played guitar, mandolin, violin, cello.... And I LOVE playing the ukulele. And all the educational information which is available online for free - it just amazes me how generous the ukulele family is!

So here's the question (finally). I love to fingerpick and find that my right-hand fingernails are generally not strong enough - I do a lot of sailing and other activities which do not add to the longevity of my nails. Any suggestions regarding "over the counter/drugstore" type of acrylics? Is the shape of the nail significant? Do you add nails to just the index and middle (and maybe thumb, or use a thumbpick), or do you also add a nail to the ring finger? Thanks in advance. I tried to search the forum but didn't find anything.

Have a blessed, ukulele day!

Jill
San Diego

I actually just use nail strengthener. I believe it's by Sally Hansen and it's called "diamond strength" or something like that. I generally have very soft nails that tend to split and peel, but this works quite well. I just got mine at a normal drug store.
I've never used false nails, though (my piano teacher would probably kill me), so I'm not sure how that would work.
Hope that helps!

Thanks. I'll give that a try :) I'm still thinkin' I'd like to try some sort of acrylic-type thing to get a little length. Guess I can just live dangerously and experiment? :)
Jill

I dont use my nails for picking, but I do have my pinky nail on the right hand long because I just cant seem to get a strong enough sound with my pinky without it. So, on that finger only I use my nail. Fortunatly, I have very strong nails to begin with.