Chords by a beginner

tooney

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I started playing the ukulele about three weeks ago so am new to this forum. I've heard good things about this site.

My question is about barring frets. To play a B minor chord "bar the second fret and put the third finger on the 4th fret." It would be inappropriate of me to tell you just exactly what my chord sounds like. Let's just say that no matter how hard I try I can't get clear tones. Is this something that comes with practice? Any tips for how to get those sweet notes? Thanks.

Hi everyone. I started playing the ukulele about three weeks ago so am new to this forum. I've heard good things about this site.

My question is about barring frets. To play a B minor chord "bar the second fret and put the third finger on the 4th fret." It would be inappropriate of me to tell you just exactly what my chord sounds like. Let's just say that no matter how hard I try I can't get clear tones. Is this something that comes with practice? Any tips for how to get those sweet notes? Thanks.

yep...

practice.

It just takes practice. You can also place your middle finger on top of the index finger for additional pressure.

Take your time, it'll come. Wait 'till you syart trying to make an Em quickly. Lol

Thanks, folks! I was getting afraid my hands weren't built for this. Practicing, I can do. Am starting to get some nice callouses. Even if I stink, I can do more now than I could 3 weeks ago. HA - checked out the thread on the Em chord. Like playing Twister!!!

Glad to know you're all here.

I can do more now than I could 3 weeks ago....

Are you playing attention to yourself? See? You can do it. It really is just a matter of practice.

That's what I try to concentrate on, Sukie - that I am progressing, and it's not the speed of my progress, but that I keep moving forward and I enjoy it. I just needed to make sure that it's a matter of practice and that I'm not digitally challenged! :)