Jazzy Ukulele Workbook Review now online

lambchop

Reaction score
I had the opportunity to run across Glen Rose's Jazzy Ukulele Workshop a few weeks back and had the chance to talk with him and review the work. The review, along with Glen's thoughts on his book, are available now at http://lambchopukulele.blogspot.com

I enjoyed this book a lot. It shows you a set of very common jazz progressions that are common to many jazz standards and teaches you how to apply these to songs like "Autumn Leaves" and "Mac The Knife."

Mike

I watched the video and the chord forms were pretty new to me. I've been playing for 4 years but never tried barring with two fingers at once. Tried it and couldn't do it well. How long did that form take you to get correct?

I watched the video and the chord forms were pretty new to me. I've been playing for 4 years but never tried barring with two fingers at once. Tried it and couldn't do it well. How long did that form take you to get correct?

Thanks for looking at it. I got it pretty quickly, actually, so stick with it. It is more like barring one fret and then barring the next fret up but only over three of the four strings. My fingers do kind of angle a bit when I do that second bar, but it still sounds okay.

So it's like this:

2nd fret X X X X first finger
3rd Fret X X X second finger

It's cramped in there, but it is possible; in fact, I find it easier than barring and then using other fingers below individually, but it may all be what we are used to. Let me know how it turns out.

Jazzy Uke is great

Hi,

I've been working with Glen Rose's books for a year now and I can't rave about them enough. I find the chord forms easy but I guess it does take a while but not that long.