Ukulele Grades

farmerboy

Reaction score
I've done a search and can't see this already posted, but please put me right if it has.

GrumpyOldMan put me on to Victoria Examinations yesterday, who are offering graded exams in ukulele. Although it doesn't really appeal to me directly, I am a school teacher and know of 60 uke players in the school. At least some of them may enjoy or 'get something out of', doing performance grades on their ukes. What I worry about is the validity of Victoria Examinations...

...In the UK, The Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music (ABRSM), Trinity Guildhall, Rockschool and London School of Music (LSM) exams all carry UCAS (university entrance) points, post Grade 6 and look great on the CV because they're verified by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA). The Victoria exams are a FOR profit organisation and therefore their primarily in it for the money.

As a professional music educator it is hard for me to justify kids spending £25+ per exam to get a piece of paper that means 'nothing' in the bigger picture, even though it may mean something to the kids.

So what do you think? Should I recommend it to them or just keep it to myself?

The only way I can see that these exams would help pupils with their UCAS would be to include the VCM grades in the personal statement as from experience pupils often struggle to qualify their statements regarding personal interests. Do the grades match up in terms of difficulty to the ABRSM grades? I have to say I quite fancy some of these exams myself!

I was approached to write some grade pieces for VSM, so please let me know what you discover. I had a talk with Colin Tribe, who last I heard was the only arranger of graded ukulele pieces. They also only went up to Grade 5 at that point.

I would assume that there is no possibility of UCAS points in the near future, but it's probably on par with doing other extra-curricular/voluntary work. It still looks good, shows commitment, etc.