Am I loving low G?

lambchop

Reaction score
Strung one of my tenors with a Low G a few weeks ago but started playing it seriously over the weekend. Spending some time with it not only am I used to it, but find I can do some really cool stuff I had not been able to do before, like some bass runs followed by a higher tri-tone (ala Jaco Pastorious). Anyone else get turned on to low G like this? Mike

I was a guitarist once,and when I tried Low G the first thing I
found,was that I could replicate a lot of my old guitar 'runs'
on the low G 'bass' string that had been lacking on re-entrant
tuning! So I keep one with Low G and one with High G now!

I tried several times in the past (without success) to string a tenor low g. I tried different instruments and different strings, but just never liked the sound. About 2 weeks ago I tried again and am loving it this time. I have plenty of low g arrangements and am starting to work on them.
Regards,
Ray

I have one of my tenors and one of my baritones strung low g, and love it for some things. There are songs it works better for, and songs the high G works better for so I have a tenor in each. Tried it on one of my concerts and didn't really care for it on that uke, but on the Bari it has a very nice sound.

I have one of my tenors strung low-G and the other high-g, the sopranos always high-g and my banjolele strung with a low-G. I prefer the high-g for strums and the low-G for picking.

I'm still relatively new at this, but when I pick a melody or a blues lick, I feel like I am running out of notes at the low end with my re-entrant strung ukes. On the other hand, when strumming, I find that the ukes strung with low-G seem to lose some of that classic sound that makes the ukulele so special.

I have one of my tenors strung low-G and the other high-g, the sopranos always high-g and my banjolele strung with a low-G. I prefer the high-g for strums and the low-G for picking.