Wearing down strings?

EDS

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I purchased my first ukulele a week ago (an Oscar Schmidt Ou3). I'm also a guitarist who fingerpicks with nails.

After a very short amount of playing (a matter of hours) the strings on the uke began to show wear from my playing - the A string became rough to the touch and it was audible when i played.

I know the strings on the Oscar Schmidt are probably not the best, so I'd like to know what kind of strings will hold up to playing with nails?

Thanks for your help!

Try a set of fluorocarbon strings fluorocarbon being allot tougher than nylon. I'm a die-hard fisherman and I prefer fluorocarbon as leader material when fishing for this very reason, it's abrasion resistance. Worth, Fremont, Orca, Ko'olau 'Alohi being just a few.

I really like the Worths. I'm a classical guitarist who fingerpicks with nails and I play the same style on uke. The Worths are very smooth and fluid feeling for me and show no signs of wear after months of fingerpicking. :)

That's interesting. I also pick with fingernails and find the top string (A), gets a bit rough. The others are magically not affected. I use Aquilas and don't bother about the slight roughness and have even smoothed it off with some very very fine sandpaper (!).

I think Worths would do you well. I always have great luck with the Clear Mediums, but I also hear great things about the Browns. I had a set of Brown Extras that I thought were terrible, so I can't suggest them, but Brown Mediums may be a good bet for you as well. 1 pack of Worths makes for 2 sets of strings, just FYI. That's why they are 2x the price.

According to Worth, the Browns provide a bit of a softer, more mellow tone, compared to the Clears, but I always thought of the Clears as pretty mellow strings (especially compared to Aquilas), so you may want to start with CM's and move to BM's if you desire more "mellow-ness"