PDA

View Full Version : Soprano's bad rep?

Eallend7
07-13-2010, 03:49 PM
Hi all, first post on UU, im a complete beginner to playing the uke, and i dont even have my first one yet, its on the way as i ordered it a few days ago. I ordered the Makala MK-S soprano, having read that the soprano is the standard or "traditional" ukulele, im thinking that the soprano was probably the first style or size ukulele to be played, im not sure of that at all but common sense leads me to assume so. If this is true, or even if it isn't, i'm wondering why i hear more bad things than good about the soprano uke in general, all i keep hearing is that its very "toy-like" and sounds very plinky and just a lot of negative things towards the soprano. Needless to say i was somewhat dissapointed when i begin to find these things being said as i just ordered a soprano, can anyone give me some positive points or atleast explain why people give these negative points towards teh sooprano? thanks a bunch from a beginner! (: cant wait to start playing, plinky or not :P

haole
07-13-2010, 04:00 PM
There's no shame in playing a soprano! When most people think "ukulele" they're thinking of the plinky-sounding soprano. The larger sizes came later as players wanted more volume and projection to be heard over other instruments. It's all a matter of personal preference. Anyone who bashes a particular size of ukulele is only making excuses to not buy one, and this goes against the principles of UAS.

leftovermagic84
07-13-2010, 04:08 PM
some of the better players on this forum lean towards sopranos. It's all a matter of preference. Enjoy your makala, and welcome to UU!

StereoJoker
07-13-2010, 04:12 PM
Huh. That's odd. You shouldn't be hearing anything bad about the sizes, just about the models or wood types or strings. The only negative thing I can think of that really sets people off the soprano is the fretboard spacing, since it seems more difficult to get used to in comparison to, say, the tenor.