PDA

View Full Version : advice needed please

jamie501
07-14-2010, 02:23 AM
hi im new here, so thought id say hello and get some advice.

Ive been playing guitar for quite a few years now and also teach guitar in schools.
I bought a cheap 20 ukulele a few months ago, because i wanted to use it on a song that i was recording.
It was ok to record the small part I needed it for but to be honest its really crap and doesent stay in tune.

so im looking for a new ukulele.

my budget is 100- 160

im undecided on a concert or soprano
also im undecided on wethere to go for a electro acoustic. but I know if i buy a electro acoustic ill be getting less uke for my money (e.g a 160 electro acoustic uke would be like a 120 acoustic uke)

any advice would be much appreciated

cheers jamie

07-14-2010, 02:34 AM
I bought a Makala MK-C (concert, but other sizes are available in the Makala series as well) about a month and a half ago for 40 ($50). It's a Kala budget uke and one of the best ukes you can get for your money. At first I thought the quality might be too cheap, but I went to a music store, actually intending to get a more expensive uke. I tried the Makala MK-C out, because that was the one the store clerk recommended. At first I did not know it was the Makala MK-C, but I liked it, especially its sound. So since it was cheap, sounded good and the clerk recommended it, I bought it. A month and a half later, I still play it every day and it stays in tune for a a little less than a week. As for the concert and soprano matter, I prefer concerts because fretboard is bigger, making it easier to play especially if you have bigger fingers.

kissing
07-14-2010, 03:27 AM
Seeing that you're using pounds, I imagine the Southern Ukulele Store would be a good place to buy:
http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Southern-Ukulele-Store

I suppose you can select the category that fits your price range from their page :)

Just avoid the ukes with Friction tuners - they can drive guitar players nuts :)