What are your top two areas of frustration?

mitchchang

Reaction score
Hi all,

I was wondering if you could help me out? I wanted to find out from y'all what are the top two areas of frustration for you as....

1) An ukulele player just getting started?

2) Someone who's been playing ukulele for two or more years?

I'm working on some new content to help answer these kinds of questions. Thanks for your help!

Mitch Chang
http://www.ukulelewebsite.com/

As a beginner, I didn't run into much frustration at all.

Having played a few years, now, though... I get frustrated with myself when i try to write songs. I also become frustrated when i don't pull of a 5-finger roll. I don't pull those off very much, either, so I get frustrated by that alot ;)

Good to see you're sharing the ukulele love........ at a price. So I'll tell you my two frustrations at only $4.95 each.

I find the premise of this thread frustrating. ;) I've played guitar for 20 years, and ukulele for about 9 months. It wouldn't be fair for me to identify myself as a beginner, but in some ways I am. I suppose I'm suffering from some sort of experiential/skills-based dichotomous fracture of self-identity.

Does that count???

Pulelehua, I recently sent out a poll where more respondents said they had a harder time knowing WHAT to practice than "finding the time" to practice. Does this describe your situation?

Yup. The five-finger roll is where you up-stroke with your thumb and flick your four fingers down, creating a 5-strum (one up, four down).

And the songwriting is the chord progressions and strum patterns. Just can't ever seem to get the right mood. But, I don't imagine that's something that anyone can "teach" you. You just have to know the right progressions.

My top two areas of frustration are:
1) Finding other players to play with (I find I learn and improve a lot when I play uke with others)
2) Having a mother in law who hates me.....(I am open to suggestions on this one) :)