your suggestion wanted

Keef

Reaction score
I am a beginner and maybe this should be in the beginners section but I thought it might get more views here
heres the deal I have yet to learn a established song other than he's got the whole world in his hands that only requires 2 chords' :) so I made my own little ditty and ive taken that as far as I can
can anyone suggest a good song for me to work on that's not a old folk song that as a self taught beginner I might actually succeed at learning thank for youre suggestions

What chords do you know and comfortable playing with?

The first song I was able to sing and play on Ukulele was Imagine by John Lennon.

F, C, Am, Dm, G7, E7 are all you need to know. As you progress you can add in riffs and melodies (like the run up to C) and fill it out, but I think it sounds great with just these chords. I was looking for the chords I use on UU but I do not see them. I can copy and paste mine in here if you need them, I just need to get my book first.

I used a bunch of them when I made my own song but I dont know their name or even if I invented new ones :)
Can you provide the shape i.e. F - 2010; G=2nd Fret, C=open, E=1st fret, A=open. This way we can try to assess what chords you're familiar with and therefore provide you with some songs using those chords. If you're familiar with major and minor chords like C (0003), G (0232), D (2220), Dm (2210), Am (2000), that will get you started.

when I get home I will figure out what chords I used im sure I didnt come up with any new ones :) and Im also sure they are very basic ... stay tuned

Pick a song you've heard that you know the words to and look up tabs (guitar or ukulele) and learn it. Try to keep things relatively within your experience and only add one or two new chords per song. Then, just keep playing and keep playing and keep playing...

~DB

I'd choose an old childhood song that you know the timing to, ie...twinkle twinkle little star etc....