Kids give me the "look" when I play uke...

super8man

Reaction score
First time poster, bear with me...

My background: I have been playing the ukulele for a couple of years now or so...started on guitar and being part Tongan yet looking Swedish, have always been around Polynesian dancing and the Pacific view of life if you will, so I took up uke and made much faster progress - and the fun factor is awesome. I take a uke most any place just in case. Now the inlaws like my playing at the poolside. Coolness.

Anyway, being a very humble player I have noticed this strange thing that kids absolutely take second and third takes at me when I am out playing - soccer practice for my kids, camping, on the beach, anywhere in public. The little ones seem to be suggesting either: "hey, that's too small for you, give it to me!" OR "That is the coolest thing I have ever seen. Dad I want one." They approach and ask to play. To which I am thinking "Hey, it a solid spalted mango uke, hands off!" hahah not really, but I let them strum carefully while I hold a chord.

I went camping with friends and friends-friends once and no one played any instrument sadly. So, I whipped out my uke and the next thing you know, I have 10 kids surrounding me, in awe apparently (trust me, I am not that good of player!!). It was funny. They stayed through three or four songs and made me realize I better learn some "kid standards" to help them along.

Anyone else discovering this instant fan base?

Cheers,
Mike

Super8 - I have never experienced this, maybe because I only play out at Uke meets filled with adults, but there was a thread sometime near the end of last year claiming the supernino ukes were "chick magnets."

supernino ukes yeah thats what need !
I think the chick magnet in my uke was installed backwards :)