Finding the right ukulele

dinamo9

Reaction score
Hey Everyone, I am still a uke beginner and I am trying to find a ukulele that feels right. Right now I have a

KA-STE-C Kala Ukuleles Spruce Tenor Cutaway w/pickup & active pre-amp (volume and tone control)

I purchased it off ebay. The things I dont like about it are its weight, finish, strings, and amp option.

I want a simple uke without any coating/finish, nice and light weight, easy to strum strings, and no amp option.

Does anyone have any suggestions of some models to take a look at. Perhaps between $100-$250.

Also, is there a marketplace where I can resell this uke I currently have?

Thanks for the help!

~Miro

Ukulele Marketplace . . . As far as another uke, contact one of the online vendors like MGM or Uke Republic, ask for their recommendation based on your criteria and needs.

Just curious, how did you wind up with a 'ukulele so totally opposite of what you wanted?

Aloha Miro,
That's one of thr pitfalls when you're a beginner and buying on line sight unseen. As a beginner, you're not capable of explaining what
you want and rush what you're saying. Next time, I'd do some research and jot down your wishlist of your wants and dislikes, so you
leave no room for the seller to assume what you want. Perhaps it's a costly lesson to learn...As for reselling it, you can post it here
on the marketplace, or craigslist and flea marketplace....newspaper for local sales too...
Next time say, satin finish....light weight construction, and no pick-up...if you like comfort and playability on the strings, change them to a lighter guage
strings...but they'll come out brighter too.. You didn't mention solid body or Laminates or tone....Good luck!! MM Stan...
BTW- Call the seller back and see if you could exchange it, since this is not what you originally wanted...

Last edited:
Thankyou for all your replys!

Kanaka916, Thanks! It's great to have those links.

cletus, That is good to know I have that option.