Beat-Up Favilla Bari: Priceless treasure or money sink?

Harper

Reaction score
I work as a part-time antique dealer, and also am an amateur uker. Recently, one of my co-dealers took on a job selling off the estate of an eccentric older man who owned a rather large collection of beaten-to-death instruments. Among them is a Favilla baritone ukulele, possibly dating to the mid-1920s. I've played one before, and I thing that Favilla may have made some of the most beautiful sounding mahogany ukes ever built.
The catch: The uke is a real piece of work. The bridge if completely off, it's missing 3 tuning pegs (and the remaining holes don't look great, wider than I'd like to see). The sound hole looks a bit rough, needs a thorough sanding to clean it up. It has a 4" crack on the back at the southernmost end, in-line with the neck. Also, there might be very minor separation between the face and sides around where the bridge connects with the neck. Otherwise, the uke is scratched and the headstock is chipped but nothing else is wrong that would effect its playing tone.
Normally, I'd buy it in a heartbeat, but the original owner's daughter researched Favilla ukes on eBay and wants this one sold at no less than $120. Although I feel that this is more than its worth, I am sure it could fetch that price at auction online.
My question to UU: Do I buy? I am not a skilled woodworker, so keep in mind that I'd have to pay out of pocket for any restoration. And even then, are all of these damages a kiss of death to good sound?
I'd like to post pictures of the uke (and the condition) but since I don't actually own it you'll have to use your imagination. Thanks in advance to anyone who can instruct me on this buy.

Aloha Harper,
I'm afraid to say, restoration work may well exceed the current market value of the uke. Just assume the
repair cost is a loss already. Unless you're Howard Huges, and you're dead set on it..Pass...I'm sure if