Essential repertoire and suggested recordings for Classic hawaiian uke instrumentals

olgoat52

Reaction score
Just starting out and would like to direct my efforts towards learning some island style (classic hawaiian) standards and find some good recordings of them.

I dug through the forum and found several threads with more pop songs listed. Some had what appeared to be hawaiian themes.

I am very new to this and have a lot to learn. Hoping to bring some old guitar skills to bear but they will probably just get in the way :rolleyes: I have been a singer all my life but don't really enjoying signing but I enjoy playing, thus the focus on Instrumentals.

So what do you all think should be in a core instrumental repertoire for any uke player playing in the islands? And what artists and recordings would you recommend.

Thanks