Strings...?!

cherry pie

Reaction score
Hello Ukulovelies...
on my introduction thread, there was much talk of string quality...
i'm already finding my fingers are blistering up a treat on these pesky cheap ones... I think thats more to do with learning to play nylons again (something i haven't done since i picked up a guitar in my teens)
Here's my question... what strings would you reccommend for an absolute beginner (i.e not performance ready strings... but suitable for heavy practice)? Obviously, there are many- but i'm not familiar with any uke brands, so i don't know who to trust!

Thanks in advance, guys :D xx

I definitely recommend the Aquilas. I've tried playing a couple different types of strings, but nothing really sounds quite as nice to me as a nice set of Aquila Nygluts :)

What type of uke do you have? The aquila strings are probably the best strings for the laminate ukes (lower end of the $$$ spectrum) After that you can always have fun experimenting with different strings. But...the aquila strings are a pretty safe bet!!!

Last edited:
For someone trying to get used to the feel of the strings, I would probably stick with something like Aquilas or the D'addario J71s that UU sells. They tend to be thicker and I know when I first started playing, they were much easier on my fingers than the thinner fluorocarbon string styles like Worth or Fremonts. Good luck to you! :)

Weirdly, when I first started playing, I found fluorocarbon strings (I use worths) to be more painful when I play, but my fingers stayed smooth and nice (no flaking) - while with aquilas, it was the other way around - flaky skin on my fingers, but less pain when I play. So... I guess it depends on the fingers.