Advice please

Helms

Reaction score
Hey there!

I already posted this in the Video and Link forum, but seeing as it's mainly for the more experienced Ukers, I guess I better post here. Sorry for double posting. Feel free to delete the one in the other Forum.

Anyway:

I've been playing Uke for 12 days now. I've been practicing a lot, and been learing a few songs with the help of Dominator and Aldrine.

I recorded myself playing 4 different songs, and I would really like if you guys had a look on them. I want to get things right from the start, and avoid using wrong techniques etc..
I know from the guitar that using a wrong technique might limit my ability to play later on. (By holding the pick wrong for example)
Hope you guys got time to help me out

http://www.youtube.com/Heelms

I have only been playing the uke for 6 months, so I am not really an expert. Your form looks great to me, except perhaps for that thumb being wrapped around the neck, instead of behind it. Guitar teachers don't like that, I understand, but then again I see a lot of really good players playing that way, and I know I sure do it. It makes some chords hard to finger, but usually I adjust when I get to them. I can't play unless I put my thumb around the side, because I use it to hold the neck up. I suppose if I started playing with a strap, I could use the more proper form, if it is more proper.

Craig Brandau is well trained (I think) and I notice his thumb coming around sometimes - just not as much.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7zqFnieN6Bc&playnext=1&videos=r-c8Tyzwqkk

Dominator does it too when he needs to, but not very often:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I3hVkyXzObM

Hopefully one of the experts will jump in.

Great sound. That guitar training and practice is really paying off.

I love that spruce. Is that a Lanikai or a Kala?

Last edited:
Pretty damn good for 12 days practice dude!