Hamano h-100t

lefty52

Reaction score
This is my first ukulele and review, so please forgive me if I leave something important out. I have been playing acoustic guitar for over 40 years, most of it professionally. I have had the luxury of owning quite a few high end acoustics, so I feel as though I have a sense of what quality craftsmanship is.

I chose to buy my uke from Music Guy Mike as he consistently gets great reviews on the web. After my dealings with him, I can understand why, in a world where customer service seems to have gone the way of the dinosaur, Michael and his staff have made me a customer for life!

This is a solid mahogany tenor uke with rosewood bridge and fingerboard, mahogany neck, bone nut and saddle, grover friction tuners and the strings have been upgraded to Aquila. I'm left handed and MGM set it up for me that way, with new strings, at no extra charge!

The fit and finish on this uke is flawless, the matte finish is smooth with no visible pitting or orange peel effect. On the neck the frets are well seated dressed cleanly with no fret edges sticking out. The only thing I could pick on is the fret board, it appears that they have stained it black to "look" like ebony, I don't think that was necessary. Inside there is no glue showing, the braces are all flush to the body and scalloped. Where the neck meets the body the joint is tight and clean of any finish flaws. The action is perfect for me, ( not too low) with spot on intonation all the way up the neck. The tuners I understand, are not for everyone they require patience, but once in tune they hold it.