Buzzing noise when playing my Ukulele.

pheenen

Reaction score
ALOHA! The ukulele has been my first instrument EVER played (unless you count drumming on the table), but anyways I'm new to the ukulele and right when I picked it up I couldn't put it down, I love it...but sadly...when I do somewhat complicated chords my ukulele strings will make a horrid buzzing noise, I'm thinking it's because of my finger placement or something like that, I play on a Lanikai LU-21 Standard Ukulele, which is the smallest ukulele. I was wondering if I upgraded to the one size bigger (concert) if it would help my big fingers get better placement. What I mean by that is that I'm assuming the concert size ukulele has a wider fret board so my fingers wont touch the other strings so easily. Please help me :D and thanks!

Are you sure it's not a string buzzing against a fret? Sometimes you just have to lightly file down the offending object so the strings passes over it smoothly.

Saying that, my concert Ohana buzzed a lot when I first got it, but since the strings have settled it's stopped doing it. Weird.

Buying another ukulele, is never a bad idea;) But it may or may not fix your buzzing problem, and I lean toward not. You will really need to take some time. Place your fingers one by one and teach them where to go until the chord sounds right and clean on its own. Then slowly work on switching into your troublesome chord from other chords, and slowly increase speed. If you find yourself getting frustrated, stop and play something else. Something fun. You will get the new chord.

Thanks a lot guys, I think I figured it out, it's my hand placement, say I'm holding the G string, and the finger holding that string is touching the C string just slightly, that's where the noise is coming from, which brings me back to my question if I buy a Concert Ukulele will it be easier being that the fret board is wider?