to Pick or not to pick (with a pick)

DAPuke

Reaction score
That is the question.
Hi UU peeps, I was jamming with my friend the other day and his acoustic guitar was so loud I couldn't hear my own Makala MK-T. I am a newbie pointer finger strummer. What can I do to be heard? Use a pick or get electrified? I have a mic and small amp to use, and there is always the pick up install option.
Can I use a pick? I read somewhere on the all mighty internet that a pick will ruin my new Aquila's. True/False...aaaaaah!
Mahalo in advance for your opinions and advice.
DAP

Yeah, what Kanaka916 said.

Also, the guitar is bigger and will naturally have the capacity at more loudness. BUT, since the two of you are playing together, adjustments have to be made. He can certainly play softer. You can generate a bit more volume. it's not a competition so work together, read through the threads, and have a good time!

Get a KoAloha and put Worth clears on it. You will be plenty loud then.

Mainly I'm joking but it is true.

Read the threads Kanaka listed. You have to decide for yourself what works best for you.
Are you just learning how to play and jam? If so, then it's not so terrible you might be a little softer. It'll come.

Thank you for the advice, words of wisdom and links. I will go pickless and learn to strum properly. I've been at it for 6mo and may be getting ahead of myself. I am learning to play, jam and sing along, for now that is enough. Foundation first. Thanks again, when I get it together a bit more I'll post a vid.

DAP

Yeah, guitars are just plain louder instruments than ukes. Your friend just needs to play more quietly.

Maybe tell him to play without a pick?

JJ

Bang on JJ - when I have gigged alongside a guitar, the guitarist plays with fingers. I never use a pick on my ukes - just doesnt feel right.