Mahalo U30G VS Beavercreek BCUKE? Which to buy? Need help fast!

whysosrs

Reaction score
Hey, I'm a beginner that started Ukulele, and was looking for one under my budget. I stumbled across two. Can you guys help me pick? Thanks!

Mahalo U30G (40 bucks, 50 with strings)
http://www.teamintlco.com/Mahalo/Pr..._ID=116&ProductSub2Type_ID=146&Product_ID=245

Beavercreek BCUKE (30 bucks)
http://www.beavercreekguitars.com/bcuke.html

P.S. The store that sells the Mahalo U30G, said he could include some lanikai strings so it won't sound like a 40 dollar Uke. It's just an extra ten bucks.

Once again, thank you so much!

Thanks for the help, but I REALLY don't want to buy online and pay shipping for a UKE. I think the Mahalo U30G with Aquila strings are 45 bucks total maybe? I just can't decide, I saw reviews, and they all seemed so negative =P. And I'm really stressed about the part where they keep going out of tune. Would Aquila strings fix this?

Any strings will do that when they're new. They're still stretching, and will be for somewhere between a week or two usually. IMO the Mahalo is more a toy than a real instrument. The Makala has gotten some rave reviews here on UU, and I have one personally that I love to play. Its my only soprano size, and I haven't bothered to upgrade the sopranos because this one is that good. My recommendation still stands, but in the end its your call. I've never heard of the Beaver Creek uke so i can't really say much about that one. My friend started off with a Mahalo, and I played it for about a week before my Makala came, and there's a humongous difference between the two.

Strings won't fix an untunable uke. An untunable uke will make you miserable and frustrated. You might want to spend a little more money to avoid that.
I would also recommend MGM, his reputation for customer service is top notch.