PDA

View Full Version : UUers from good ol' Iowa.

ukebeatsguitar
08-16-2010, 07:10 AM
So I love playing uke, but it'd be so much more fun with other ukers. Living in a small southern Iowa town it seems that nobody plays uke at all, instead they all play guitar. I was just wondering if anyone on here is from Iowa and if you'd like to get together and strum out some tunes sometime.

arashi_nero
08-23-2010, 05:20 AM
sorry i'm a week late on this, but welcome to UU. i haven't been a member here too long myself, but it's a great community and everyone is very helpful.

so, you're a fellow bassoonist? i replied to your post on keef's thread. i guess to not hijack his thread, i'll repost what i put there on your thread here.

yes! i really do play bassoon. one of my bachelor degrees is in music performance on the bassoon. i absolutely love the bassoon. i heard peter and the wolf for the first time when i was 5 and knew then i would play bassoon. since i graduated, i haven't played as much (actually haven't played in about a year). i think i was a little burned out from having to play several hours a day for many many years. the uke has been a great release because it's teaching me new skills. i also don't have to worry about warming up for 15-20 mins before playing and spending 15 mins swabbing every joint when i put it away. however, when put together and playing with great reeds, i can't think of anything that sounds better and any instrument i want to play more. and you're right, the scholarships were awesome too.

anyway, what type of bassoon do you play? i play a fox/renard 220.

ukebeatsguitar
08-23-2010, 06:27 AM