San Francisco shops.

eric_sf

Reaction score
hey all. i just wanted to know if there are any stores/shops in San Francisco that sell ukulele-related items. i just started playing recently, and i want to try out some different strings.

i'm originally from san diego, where there are about a half-dozen shops that i know about. i've been in san francisco for almost a year now for school, and i haven't been able to locate a relevant music store..

anything on the SF peninsula would be best. the less bay/bridge crossing, the better, since it's a cheaper train-fare.

any suggestions? thanks in advance.

I haven't done too much searching in SF, but one place I know of is Aloha Warehouse in Japantown.
They sell Pono and (I think) Kala ukes and Ko'olau strings.

Oh and Spam. Many varieties of Spam.

yup yup. aloha warehouse in japantown has a small selection of strings. they sell pono, kala, mele, makala, and some other brands of ukes as well. it's fun to go and try them all out. other than that, you might try out guitar center on van ness of the haight ashbury music center. call first and see what kind of selection they have. if not, get a string sampler from musicguymic on ebay. he's a pleasure to deal with. let your fingers do the walking.

what part of SF are you in? you should get in on the next bay area or SF uke meet. cheers!

guitar center! of course. i should have guessed that there's one up here.

i figure i'll check out at least aloha warehouse and guitar center tomorrow, and hopefully find something. i was actually just looking at musicguymic's eBay store the other day, but i thought i'd try to get some strings locally to avoid the wait on shipping.

and i'm over in the lake merced area, near SFSU. i'm still learning to play and fumbling around with chords and stuff, but it'd still be cool to drop-by one of these meets for sure sometime soon.

thanks for all the help guys.

and i'm over in the lake merced area, near SFSU.