So, tell me about this Humidity thing...

mythidiot

Reaction score
As you've probably ascertained from the title of this post, I'm pretty new to this whole owning an instrument thing...

So I've had a few ukes for a few months and everything seems to be fine. I live in South Eastern Idaho in a basement. I'm not sure if that matters, but I like these ukes and I'd like to keep them nice... so my question is: do I need a humidifier in the room or in the case or something?

Thanks in advance for any help...

Oh, if it helps, I have an Ohana SK20S (Solid top, lam back and sides) and Ohana SK25Z (solid all around) photo 1.jpgstand.jpg

Someone will likely come along with a better answer but here is my take.

From my understanding, usually if you are comfortable the uke is, but they need to be kept at around 40% minimum. I live where it is usually 50-70% near the beach (at this moment it's 85%) , but still case mine with mostly Herco humidifiers, the cheaper one with clay as the moisture reservoir. In one old Kamaka's case I keep two. You laminate is less affected, but the solid top could conceivably show some shrinkage eventually as could the necks if the humidity isn't right.

You can get a hygrometer for the room where you keep them which measures humidity, I don't believe they cost too much, I just saw some on eBay selling in conjunction with Oasis humidifiers which are made for cased instruments. All but two of mine are cased with humidifiers and one of those is a CBU on I did notice that the koa neck shows some shrinkage by the frets sticking out a bit. It was made in Hawaii, and I've had it about a year and a half. So if you have a case just put in a humidifier.

If you leave them out and want to keep them that way, then you can go to the weather channel online and check the humidity for your area, that's a start, but if you run a heater or air conditioner in your abode it will dry out the air. So then you could run a humidifier but I am always nervous about mold.