PDA

View Full Version : Traditional standard ukulele neck joint.

olgoat52
08-20-2010, 09:32 AM
Im new to ukuleles but was an apprentice luthier in the late 70's. A discussion came up in the technical forum about neck joints and I wondered what the expert opinion might be.

The research I have done todate on traditional neck joinery for standard and concert size ukes indicates that the heel end of the neck is butt jointed to the uke body with no dovetail, tenon or dowels.

I'm sure there have been many variations in the past as everything in luthiery has variations from builder to builder.

I know I was very surprised at this having worked extensively on steel stringed instruments which generate significantly more compression stress on the neck joint.

I site this site as one of the sources. (Great site. Lots of tips on building) http://www.ukuleles.com/BuildingHowTo/neck2body.html as well as the fact that serveral Uke kit instructions (like the one from Elderly Instruments and I believe Grizzly) use a butt joint.

What do the pros say??

Thanks

Moore Bettah Ukuleles
08-20-2010, 09:49 AM
Referring to the site you mentioned, David used epoxy on his neck joint. Never a good idea IMO in the event the neck needs to be removed for any reason. I also think dovetail joints are over kill on ukuleles, especially the smaller sizes. While many builders will be happy with a simple butt and glue joint, I do like to see at least some kind of mechanical fastener in the joint if for no other reason than it helps in alignment. Having built only steel stringed instruments I can imagine your surprise. There's only something like twenty pounds of string tension on a standard size ukulele.
Ask Pete about the similarities between ukuleles and guitars! :)

olgoat52
08-20-2010, 09:59 AM