PDA

View Full Version : laminated sides

gunnarbriem
08-20-2010, 03:05 PM
hey there. im a newbie and about to start my first build. i was thinking about making the sides by laminating some walnut veneer in a mould. you guys got some experiences with such a method? results and/or problems? got some quartersawn walnut veneer that ill glue up a thickness of 2mm.

Pete Howlett
08-20-2010, 10:51 PM
I am very seriously considering this as a method of construction for an electro travel uke I am designing. However, laminating technology is not just simply pressing veneers into a mold. When I made veneered furniture I used the vacuum bag method. I'll be doing this if I go that route. It would be worth you reading up on this if you are not already familiar with the method... At college, guitars were made with laminated sides using male/female molds. With modern day routers they are relatively straightforward to make. I'd use an accurate male mold minus the thickness of the sides plus 1/2mm for aluminium caul strip with the female true, plus 1/2mm for aluminium caul strips and plusanother 2mm for the cork lining I'd use. This part would be split in 3 with the male being left whole and fixed to a base board. Loads of 6" cramps would be reuquired plus a torque wrench to check that the prassure on each clamp was even... See why the bag method is the more favored?

thistle3585
08-21-2010, 05:37 AM
There is a mandolin builder that builds sides in this manner. I'd make the male and female mold then cut the female mold into thirds and hinge the outside "wings". Clamp the middle down then clamp the wings down. I think vacuum bagging would be overkill in this application. The problem will be keeping from gluing the sides and clamp together. You can't use mold release because it would contaminate the surface of the sides and cause problems in finishing. When it comes down to it. I think you're creating more work than if you bent the sides traditionally.

Moore Bettah Ukuleles