My new Dave Talsma custom Tenor

RyRod

Reaction score
I've been super excited, and envious, while reading Fu's, Nuprin's, and Jake's threads regarding their MP customs. Now I can start my own thread showing the progress of my new Dave Talsma Tenor.

I contacted Mr. Talsma about a year ago in order to get a quote for his tenor model. He got back to me with his, very reasonable, price of $950 for a standard Tenor. But why be "standard" when you're getting a custom? I told him I'd get back with him when I knew I could see the deal all the way through.

In late March I e-mailed him again and I started shooting Ideas at him and he shot some back. Once we got all the details ironed out I gave him the go-ahead. Dave told me that he was about 4 months out from starting on it.

Fast forward to now and he has all the the materials for the build and is starting on it.

Here's the details:

-Tenor 17" scale length ukulele, 14 frets to body
-Martin shape body, walnut sides/back and cedar top.
-Walnut neck (maple center), 1-1/2" nut width and thicker height.
-Talsma open headstock shape w/gold leaf Talsma logo.
-B/W/B purfling around top and soundhole.
-Maple binding on top/back, soundhole rosette and center strip down back.
-Regular size fretwire.
-White side markers.
-Pearl dove inlays in fretboard and head (I'll explain the meaning later)
-Talsma style bridge.
-Corian bone nut & saddle.
-Worth tenor strings
-Gloss nitrocellulose lacquer buffed finish.
-Ebony fretboard, head veneer and bridge
-Mi-Si rechargeable pick-up

-Open classical headstock
-GOTOH Stealth Tuners

In the end I think i'll be super happy with my ukulele

Last edited:
He sent me the first picture today.

Hi, I was going thru my stash of cedar tops for your ukulele, I found this nice one that I have had for a while, it was taken from a sunken log in the state of Washington, and its over 300 years old, just checking that you like the looks of it, its a dark color, which will look nice with the walnut