I never understood harmonica chords until I saw

uke5417

Reaction score
this

within ten minutes I had the general shapes down and was howling along, having a blast.

There's nothing like basic information, well presented. No, "first we must learn the history and anatomy of the tongue" or any of that crap.

Thank you for this very logical explanation. Wow! Somebody knows how to communicate well with those of us who don't have a major in music theory!

Thanks for the post!

I have a degree in music and I have never known exactly how to play the harmonica! This really helps!

My only question is: How do you only play the chords on the top or bottom without sounding both?

I have a degree in music and I have never known exactly how to play the harmonica! This really helps!

My only question is: How do you only play the chords on the top or bottom without sounding both?

for one you suck, the other you blow...

errr.. i mean draw, not suck :)

JT

Mahalo for the info, was trying to teach myself the harmonica a few years back (own half a dozen in various scales) but got distracted with the 'ukulele so they have been collecting dust. Time to bring them out again. ;)

The chords on top are played by blowing, whereas the chords on the bottom are played by drawing (sucking / inhaling).

Although normal humans can't really inhale and exhale through the mouth at the same time (circular breathing doesn't count in this case), I learned years ago that it is possible to make both the blow and draw chords sound simultaneously. Harp guru Pat Missin explains it on his site: http://www.patmissin.com/uncommon/uncommon01.html

Another benefit of the visual layout is that you can see which notes are bendable. For any given chamber, the note that is higher can be bent down almost all the way to the lower note. So you can see that holes 1 - 6 are draw bends, whereas holes 7 - 10 are blow bends. Holes 5 and 7 bend the least, and hole 3 bends the most.