Is it just me?

Bobasan

Reaction score
Hi all,

So I am very new to the ukulele, coming at it from a classical guitar background, and I am wondering is it just me or is it everyone who gets into playing the ukulele gets a little goofy/happy? I bring this up from watching a number of different "serious" musicians I play with on a regular basis. I've had of them all play my ukulele and it was like I flipped a switch and turned them into smiling giggling goofs. Most are getting their own instruments as a result. Now when I play most any kind of music I am normally a smiling giggling goof so I didn't notice this behavioral change in myself but seeing it in my musician friends is very amusing. I'm just curious if this is the norm for this little two octave treat?

Bobasan

Ahhhh....that is what happens when a uke is played, people get happy!!!!

I showed 3 electric guitar players at work my Eleuke yesterday. This is exactly what happened. They got all giddy and didn't want to give it back.

I can't help but grin like a Cheshire Cat with my Ukuleles I even sold my electric guitar in order to buy a Kala. Boy I was smiling that day. A fun and happy instrument.

I play with a group which meets at different locations and I can swear that it takes longer to get there than to get back home.

Last night we played up a Lawson, about a 40 minute drive away.

We car pool so we had four of us in the car and on the way home we had a classic rock station on and we were all singing along without a care in the world.

I came from a background in classical guitar as well. If anything, I'd say CGers take themselves way too seriously. Things like using an electronic tuner or playing from tab are considered blasphemy. And heaven forbid you be self taught, because we all know you can't learn to play "properly" without a qualified teacher or if you don't have a "proper" instrument that costs over $1,000. :rolleyes: