How does one become 'good' at the ukulele?

fingerbang

Reaction score
I have been playing for 7 months now and I have seen rapid improvement, bearing in mind I have taught myself and no other people that play.

I want to be really good at the ukulele, I enjoy playing it so much.

Essentially, what does one have to do to be a good ukuleleist?

Kieran

Maybe you should look into UUU. Take one of their courses. And practice.

Welcome to UU!

Practice.

You will hear it again and again. Practice.

There are no shortcuts. Period. Practice.

I was reading yesterday on Harmony Central's "Lesson's Loft" forum and found a great quote. They were talking about "should I learn theory?", but it applies to everything.

If you are aspiring to be a musician, you should not try to find excuses as to why you SHOULD NOT learn something. you need to WANT TO LEARN EVERYTHING. If you don't have that curiosity and the drive to follow through with your curiosity, you should consider a career in welding instead. ~meganutt7

Bingo. Practice.

Reiterating the idea of practice, I remember early on in my youthful guitar days coming across this quote from Ted Nugent...

"Practice, practice, practice. Practice until your fingers bleed. Then you'll know you're onto something."

Pretty straight to the point.

Aloha Kieran,
Welcome to the UU and our forums..check out MusicTeacher2010 and Keonepax for awesome tutorials for starters too!!
Just google them...they're on You Tube..I hope it helps!! Keep strumming them strings!! MM Stan...
Three words...Practice, Patience and Perserverence= ukulele success!!!

Last edited:
In the midst of practice and playing...think of it more as becoming good at music...

In the midst of practice and playing...think of it more as becoming good at music...

That's a wonderful quote. +1.

I've been playing and practicing for two and a half years. It's a great experience. I want to get better so badly.