Why get upset?

Valerie

Reaction score
Why is it that some uke players seem a bit peeved when people say ukes are small guitars?

It is part of the guitar family, and weren't the original ukes a variation on portuguese guitars?

I understand that ukes are a different instrument from guitars. I think 97% of people understand that- even when they say that a uke is a small guitar.

So why all the pain and missery when people say so?

Hmmmmm.......maybe it's because a lot of people see the ukulele as an inferior instrument to the guitar. When I tell people I play the uke they instantly think of it as fun and non serious instrument. They're reminded of Tiny Tim, and Kermit the frog :).

You should see how mad guitar players get when you call their guitar a "big ukulele."

You should see how mad guitar players get when you call their guitar a "big ukulele."

Dude, as a non-guitar-player-- and I think that places me in the minority around here-- I have to say, since I started playing ukulele, whenever I see people playing acoustic guitars, on tv or in bars or whatever, I kind of snicker at how GIGUNDOUS their instruments are. I'm like, "his ukulele is HUUUUUGE!"

Dude, as a non-guitar-player-- and I think that places me in the minority around here-- I have to say, since I started playing ukulele, whenever I see people playing acoustic guitars, on tv or in bars or whatever, I kind of snicker at how GIGUNDOUS their instruments are. I'm like, "his ukulele is HUUUUUGE!"

It's amazing, after focusing on the Uke for the last 6 mos., when I pick up my SG, I can't believe how giant it is.
Do bass players get mad that their instrument is just another kind of guitar?
I say embrace it. Just as I embraced fully my role as an American Uke player and learned a kicking version of "Tiptoe". Now when people ask, I just say "Dig this" and blow them away.

Why is it that some uke players seem a bit peeved when people say ukes are small guitars?