Dressing the Frets

SuzukHammer

Reaction score
Who here has done it?

I saw a Youtube video about how a guitar shop does it and it only seemed to cause me more questions.

What are the objectives?
1) straight edges across all the frets?
2) making the fret and fret spacing smooth and clean?
3) putting a shape on a fret?
4) cleaning off the fret?
5) putting a gliding "waxy" film on the fret and board?

Hey, I am new to strings so if anything I post is wrong, let me know.

Is there a ukulele dress the frets video?

Uneven frets are one of the most common sources of trouble and frustration with any stringed instrument. The main reasons for re dressing the frets are to level any uneven fret height and to reduce any sharp fret ends. Both of these will dramatically affect comfort and playability. Fret dressing usually involves filing the height of all the frets evenly, followed by re crowning of the tops of the frets. The ends of the frets often need to be filed flush with the sides of the fret board and the very ends of the frets themselves need to be rounded off. Finally, the frets are polished and the wooden finger board is treated with a dressing of some sort to prevent the wood from drying out.
At the end of the fret dressing, the action is often reset to suit the player's preference. This may involve adjusting the nut and/or saddle. Often, the action on an ukulele is set uncomfortably high in order to compensate for poor fret leveling and dressing.
Done right, fret work is an acquired skill. You can easily screw things up if you don't know what you're doing! A video would certainly help but it won't take the place of experience. Practice on a clunker if you want to attempt it yourself.
Good luck.

Thanks Chuck,

I have lots of clunkers because I do like to tinker around on the cheapies and that makes it easier for me to have confidence on my midlevel ukes.