Uke Minutes 2 - Strum

Aldrine teaches one of the best ways for beginners to learn a pretty standard strum. Since everyone has their own way of strumming, we want to see the way you strum your uke.

strum with thumb??

Question: Anyone out there primarily strum with their thumb like I do? It works for now at least... Being self taught, I didn't really know until it was too late, that my thumb strumming was not what everyone was doing....

Does anyone know if thumb strumming will make it difficult to advance my skills....should I break the habit??

Question: Anyone out there primarily strum with their thumb like I do? It works for now at least... Being self taught, I didn't really know until it was too late, that my thumb strumming was not what everyone was doing....

Does anyone know if thumb strumming will make it difficult to advance my skills....should I break the habit??

IMO you should break the habit of just using your thumb. when you experiment with the use of other fingers, you will start to notice the different tones you can make. same with picking. depending on the song, the tone of the note may sound better with your thumb or you nail on your index finger.

try out other strums and your playing style will be more versatile.

IMO you should break the habit of just using your thumb. when you experiment with the use of other fingers, you will start to notice the different tones you can make. same with picking. depending on the song, the tone of the note may sound better with your thumb or you nail on your index finger.

try out other strums and your playing style will be more versatile.

Thanks Nuker..will do. You advice makes sense. I hate developing bad habits when learning new skills. One of the down sides of not taking lessons when I first started I guess...

Thanks Nuker..will do. You advice makes sense. I hate developing bad habits when learning new skills. One of the down sides of not taking lessons when I first started I guess...