Kamaka Decals

H

Hippie Dribble

hi all

I have a lovely old gold-label Kamaka Soprano uke here at home...in great condition save for the Kamaka "logo" decal on the headstock, which is peeled away and half-missing...

Does anyone know if these can be bought from Kamaka...or anywhere else for that matter?

I did email Kamaka about the issue but they said "next time you're in hawaii drop your uke in and we'll put a sticker on for you etc" Nice offer but the chances of me getting to hawaii at ANY time in the future is almost zero!!!

The only other thing I could think of was mailing the uke over to them, but two way shipping from Aust-USA is likely to cost me over $100USD...

any suggestions anyone or should I just give up?

eugene:confused::anyone:

I doubt you'll be able to just buy the decal. Then there would be all kinds of fake Kamakas floating around.

Do you really care about the decal? If you plan on playing it for awhile I wouldn't worry about it. I'm not an expert, but I don't think the decal would hurt the sale price all that much if you want to sell it. I've seen a bunch go on eBay with less than perfect decals and they still went for a pretty penny.

Check with your local Kamaka dealer. Maybe they can do it, or request that Kamaka send them the decal to place on it.

I assume Kamaka wants to be sure their decal only goes on a real Kamaka. A local dealer of theirs should be able to do that.

Aloha Eugene,
Like Kamaka said, Only way you'll get a decal is to bring it in....It's to protect themselves from proliferation of fake Kamakas out there.
.....I don't even think they give them even to dealers...they want to know it's going on a certain kamaka for sure,
and there's no way around that....Sorry for the bad news....Hope that ukulele get together went well...Take Care...MM Stan...