Kamaka and Kamaka

omega

Reaction score
I am a noob but love to start with the best one I can afford to avoid the future upgrade.
I have to buy this unseen. No idea what the sound of them would be (heard ppl said each one sounds different.)
I'm kind of guess that density of tone wood might have something to do with the sounds. So I think that the experts here might be able to tell by looking at the grain and color. If there is no such a thing please just help me pick one.:eek:

Number 1
KamakaT-F.jpg
KamakaT-BK.jpg

Number 2
1.jpg

Thanks!

I'd guess it would be impossible to judge tone visually. I'm sure either Kamaka (virtually any Kamaka) will sound wonderful. If you can't play them for yourself, pick the one that looks the nicest to you....

Pick one, you'll be thrilled either way.
Congrats on your first uke, way to avoid "upgrade syndrome"!

I hate you..

jk a little. Go with what you think looks best, they're basically going to be the same. Although I played 2 kamakas and thought one was better than the other.

Aloha Omega,
You're a smart cookie, buying the best you can comfortably afford....not only saving on future upgrades but
buying a better instument on sound, playability and comfort. You'll probally learn faster and get less fustrated.
Kamaka's are top of the uke chain...when looking for one, for me the less fancy(curly or flamed) one sounds the
best ...try and find the straightest grain possible for the best sound.. fancy curly ones distort the sound, I believe..
Many buy on looks, and that what retailers order for sales....but the newer kamaka's sound real nice, if you
could try them out first, it would benefit you getting a good sounding one as they are as individual as you and me.
It is said out of ten ukes, you just get one or two great sounding ones out of the bunch...pick and choose wisely!!
There are alot of variables, not only wood grain...for instance , you can buy the same make and model made by the same