Glyph Mezzo Soprano: 3.5 years in the making

GX9901

Reaction score
What's up UU! I have not posted or even lurked around here for quite some time as I have been occupied by some other stuff. But my passion for the ukulele has never waned and I figure I would share with the UU community by posting about a ukulele I've been waiting on for literally three and a half years. It's a Glyph Mezzo Soprano I ordered in April of 2007.

As some of you know, Glyph have a very long waiting list and when I placed the order, I have been playing the ukulele for all of 2 months. I figured back then that by the time I received this ukulele, I'd be able to play it decently. I guess that was a big leap of faith but I'm glad to say that I'm still playing the ukulele today.

The Glyph started out much different than what it looked like today. Somewhere between year 1 and 2, I decided to make it kind of a homage to Jake Shimabukuro's Kamaka as I gained more knowledge about the ukulele and about what I liked in a ukulele. Along the way I acquired many custom built ukuleles in a long UAS run (just look at the craziness in my sig!), and although I've only have a limited time with the Glyph, I think it's safe to say that it ranks with the best ukuleles I have. I haven't had the urge to get more ukes for a while now and while I'm very excited about this new Glyph, I think I'm still safe from UAS for the time being. But as we all know, never say never...

Anyway, I'm posting a few pics below. If you've never seen my blog, check out the build process if you're interested here.

A few pics of the "Mini-Jake":
DSC04112.JPG

DSC04114.JPG

DSC04115.JPG

DSC04116.JPG

Very nice!!!! I like that little wave in the bridge.

Worth the wait?

Yeah, I think it's worth the wait. With such a long wait time, you kind of order it and forget about it. So it wasn't like it was an agonizing wait. I'm very happy with how it turned out.