metronome or online metronome - recommendations

SuzukHammer

Reaction score
I am self taught in music and this strumming business has me thinking I need to work on my rhythm.

I went shopping for metronomes. I have a digital metronome but it doesn't make sounds of notes and give sample syncopations.

The metonomes I saw were in the $100 range and again. NO samples. No relation to notes / rhythm. I can buy cheaper but only maybe to $50 but I think I'd need to get the big one if I needed it. So, I'm thinking second hand or garage sale find.

So.. I have books and CDs. Damned I am lazy.

then I did the google search and was mesmerized here. Its just 2/4 time but I am mesmerized.

http://www.teoria.com/tutorials/reading/07-8-16.htm

I think I could spend $20/year for this.

Are there better or funner options on the web? What is your experience.

Aren't the last 3 examples on that page in 4/4?
Anyway, I never had a metronome, having owned a cheap old Boss DR550 drum machine for ages.
You can find them cheap on ebay etc.
Maybe it's worth your while picking one up if you want that level of programmability.
It would certainly outperform any "metronome" you could find at the price.

Check the Miscellaneous section of the Ukulele Resources thread. I'm not sure if that application has those features you mentioned.

I have a clockwork metronome which I love to bits.

Not sure what you mean "makes sounds of notes". Mine ticks and rings on the start of new bar.

If you have iPhone - there are lots of good apps with Metronomes in them

Aren't the last 3 examples on that page in 4/4?
Anyway, I never had a metronome, having owned a cheap old Boss DR550 drum machine for ages.
You can find them cheap on ebay etc.
Maybe it's worth your while picking one up if you want that level of programmability.
It would certainly outperform any "metronome" you could find at the price.